Enter to win!

Sign up for the Spartan mailing list for your chance to win a pair of custom Vans Sk8-Hi shoes. One winner will be chosen at random! Contest ends May 31st

* indicates required
We don't spam... we jam.

Over the Ocean - "Be Given to the Soil" SPAR006


From the very beginning, Over the Ocean set out to create music that stops listeners in their tracks. Listening to the band's new album, "Be Given to the Soil," is as if you were sitting in a room watching them sweat out every ounce of passion that was poured tirelessly into each song. Thematically and musically, the arrangements are darker, heavier and more sparse at points than the band's previous effort, all the while delivering the same level of lyrical complexity that fans grew to love on their debut. "Be Given to the Soil" swan dives right into the soul, plunging the unexplained inner depths of the human condition. From start to finish the record offers raw, gut-wrenching wrestling with the eternal. Each song proclaims the loudness of humanity’s inner life – truth, doubt and struggle wrapped up in a disturbingly clear package.

In an era of the immediate and temporary, Over the Ocean has crafted something timeless. "Be Given to the Soil" is not for the faint of heart and mustn't be approached half-heartedly. You will either be sonically immersed into a landscape of seeming sonic dysfunction held together by a heart-piercing rhythm section, or you will refuse its advances altogether. "Be Given to the Soil" is available now at digital retailers and on limited edition double vinyl on Seattle's Spartan Records.

Engineered, Produced and Mixed by Jeremy S.H. Griffith at Singing Serpent Studios in New York City.


  1. Herons
  2. Riverbed
  3. God In My Own Image
  4. Obscene
  5. Air In My Lungs
  6. Kiss the Ground
  7. Owl
  8. Arguing Philosophies
  9. Ecology
  10. In this Darkness
  11. Someone has to Bleed
  12. Mountain (Bonus Track)
Pressing Information

• First pressing limited to 100 copies: Clear with Dark Green Haze - SOLD OUT
• Second pressing limited to 100 copies: Dark Green- SOLD OUT
• Third pressing limited to 100 copies: Clear vinyl with White Haze
• Fourth pressing limited to 100 copies: White

Gatefold jacket printed on reverse board stock with black inserts. Full album download card included within each jacket. Includes a instant download of the b-side "Mountain."